Support Forums

Support Online : Mon - Fri / 10am - 6pm (GMT +6)

Your Time: Our Time:

URGENT - SP Page Builder module became empty after editing...

Featured Lock Resolved Bug
i have updated to the last version 3.4.11 to get the backend edit
after update, i opened the module, made the changes i needed (link change in text addon) and clicked save
once cliked save, the module has been removed from the website and in the back, all i have is the frontend button.....
close button doesn't work
the page has many (see screen shots)

Attachments (2)

  • 1.png
    1.png 93.3 KB
  • 2.png
    2.png 130.2 KB

41 Answers

Paul Frankowski - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi,
Sorry for the troubles.
I will inform our developer, please wait till tomorrow with all SPPB modules edition.
--
In the meantime, Can you share some info as well:
1) PHP version
2) What SPPB Pro you had before update to 3.4.11

udi

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi,
Sorry for the troubles.
I will inform our developer, please wait till tomorrow with all SPPB modules edition.
--
In the meantime, Can you share some info as well:
1) PHP version
2) What SPPB Pro you had before update to 3.4.11



hi
i'm using php 7.2.
i don't remeber what was SPPB pro i had but i usually keep them up to date so was either 3.4.8 or 3.4.10

Paul Frankowski - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
if you used SPPB Modules, it had to be 3.4.8 before

Chabo Design

More than a month ago #Permalink
Yeah, I don't know what happen suddenly, this extension was so good for the last year.

Not sure if the server you guys are developing are not recent or whatever but those are not small glitches, it's just not working at all :s

Please, maybe it's a good idea for the future to open beta version? At least, few people will help you detecting the bug so you guys could release better version for everyone.

Just an idea.

Regards,
Mat

Mel

More than a month ago #Permalink
Same thing happened to me, went to edit module and it emptied everything from the page. I have php 7.2 Joomla 3.9.6 and I was on SPPB 3.4.8. Luckily it wasn't one of my bigger pages so I could quickly recreate it.

I have reverted back now to 3.4.8.

Mel

Paul Frankowski - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
Mat & Mel, To be honest - few users from forum tested SPPB as well, but they didn't notice that error.
It's really hard to emulate all cases, sometimes one bad line can destroy a well-written code.
I hope with your help it will be possible to find and fix it soon.

pepperstreet

More than a month ago #Permalink
(Following…)

Markus

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hello, unfortunately I am facing the same problem. I was so glad to hear about the possibility to work on modules from backend - like in the past. BUT: After the update to version 3.4.11 modules are suddenly empty after pushing the save-button. Please let me know if you need further information for root cause analysis...

Rosy

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hello, I have the same problem:

1) PHP version 7.2
2) SPPB Pro 3.4.8 (I went back to it after having problems with 3.4.10 version)
3) Joomla 3.9.6

Hope you fix this soon, thanks

Al Mamun - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi udi,

Can you please install this module package and try. Also clear server and browser cache.

Thanks,
Mamun

Attachments (1)

  • mod_sppagebuilder.zip 9.9 KB

Paul Frankowski - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
@Rosy,
but we suggested using sppb 3.4.11, not 3.4.10 (!).
Install 3.4.11 > then install module SPPB from the post above.
Thanks.

Al Mamun - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi Guys,

Can anyone send me problematic website administrator login details in private message? I can't replicate the issue.
Here my demo site http://joomlalover.net/konstra/administrator you can check.
username: admin
password: demo

Thanks,
Mamun

Rosy

More than a month ago #Permalink
@Rosy,
but we suggested using sppb 3.4.11, not 3.4.10 (!).
Install 3.4.11 > then install module SPPB from the post above.
Thanks.


I already installed 3.4.11 yesterday (sorry I should have said it in my post), but the problem persist. With 3.4.11 it comes back the backend module edit, but as soon as I save it, in the fronend the module dissapear! And if I enter again in the backend the module it's empty too, everything I added before it's no more there!
So I went back again to 3.4.8 but there is a problem with that too, if I try to add a SPPB module in category description by using "the add module in article plugin", the module doesn't appear (I attached two screenshot), it worked just fine till 3.4.7.

I start to export every page and module I made with SPPB to not lose all my work, but I can continue to do that, I need something that works just like before. I loose too much time trying to fix this instead working on my articles, and I can't afford to lose time.

Hope you can fix this very soon, I love SPPB and never had any problems till now.
Thanks,
Rosy

P.S.: excuse my English, I'm Italian so I hope you understand what I write here.

Attachments (2)

  • Module_in_Category.jpg
    Module_in_Category.jpg 91 KB
  • Portfolio_no_module.jpg
    Portfolio_no_module.jpg 131.3 KB

udi

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi udi,

Can you please install this module package and try. Also clear server and browser cache.

Thanks,
Mamun


Hi Mamun
i couldn't wait and restored the module from backup and re-instaled 3.4.7

if you still need a website to test the issue, i can create a copy of the website under a sub-domain and give you access.
please send me your email address

udi

Al Mamun - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink

please send me your email address

you can send me that using private message by the way here is my email: mamunhpath[@]hotmail.com

Thanks,
Mamun

skistner

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi udi,

Can you please install this module package and try. Also clear server and browser cache.

Thanks,
Mamun

hello, is the problem with this mod fixed? already tested? as long as i use the front editor everything works normally. Only if I click on save in the backend module editor, the whole content will be deleted. However, this only occurs if Modula was present before the update. If I create a new one after the update then I can also edit and save it in the backend editor.

Al Mamun - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi skistner,

If you edit in front-end then save that in front-end after that reload back-end and edit whatever you want then save it in back-end. If you edit module in front-end you must need to reload it in back-end to bring change of front-end. This is one way edit system either edit and save in back-end or edit and save in front-end.

Thanks,
Mamun

Mohammed Ahmed

More than a month ago #Permalink
I've had this happen on one of my sites and brushed it off, but have a few more websites that need upgrading too.

This workaround seems messy - will this be fixed in a later version of SP Page Builder, or do we have to go through the process of downloading the mod above, then doing the edits in the front-end to save the content in the back-end?


Thanks,

Al Mamun - Staff

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi Mohammed Ahmed,

I think I couldn't understand you what I mean. You no need to edit in front-end and save in back-end. If you edit in back-end so that save that in back-end. Also If you edit in front-end so that save in front-end don't save in back-end without reload because data not update automatically. Use one editor back-end or front-end not both.

Thanks,
Mamun

skistner

More than a month ago #Permalink
Hi skistner,

If you edit in front-end then save that in front-end after that reload back-end and edit whatever you want then save it in back-end. If you module in front-end you must need to reload it in back-end to bring change of front-end. This is one way edit system either edit and save in back-end or edit and save in front-end.

Thanks,
Mamun

Hello, Al Mamun,
thank you very much for your info. Seems to me to have really been a user error. I tested it with 3 modules as described by you - AND --- ALL GOOD --- PERFECT. Thanks for the great tool Pagebuilder, with which I as a non-programmer can finally design my pages myself. So happy :-) :-)
NOT FIXED! Here are my personal experiences.

Tested PB module from v.3.4.11 in backend.
NEW module shows editor UI after first module save opearation.
As soon as I add a Row or Section, the editor area goes blank!
No way to get back to the editor UI. Only empty blue and lightgrey editor toolbar background.

Console error:
TypeError: "r.settign is undefined"
engine.js

---

Tested module from Attachment in backend.
Edited previously saved module. Same issue. Empty UI.
Created NEW module. Same issue after adding a row or section. Empty UI.

Console error:
TypeError: "r.settign is undefined"
engine.js

:o :( :(

Al Mamun - Staff

4 weeks ago #Permalink
Hi pepperstreet,

Can you please set a test site for me and give me login details by PM. Because I can't reproduce the issue.

Thanks,
Mamun

udi

4 weeks ago #Permalink
Hi pepperstreet,

Can you please set a test site for me and give me login details by PM. Because I can't reproduce the issue.

Thanks,
Mamun


sent it to your email
Hi pepperstreet, Can you please set a test site for me and give me login details by PM.

Sorry, no I can’t. A local helix ultimate quickstart. Updated to latest versions beforehand. I have also de-installed the PB MODULE, and re-installed the attachment. Just to make sure, it is no update issue.
Trying to test some other installations. Maybe there are other results. But still want to figure out whats wrong with this particular install... and how to fix the error!
Trying to test some other installations. Maybe there are other results. But still want to figure out whats wrong with this particular install... and how to fix the error!


Second HELIX 4 installation. Tested earlier installed SPPB PRO v.3.4.7. Everything works.
Then tried to update to SPPB 3.4.11 through Joomla updater. Not working. Had to download a fresh package, uploaded and installed it manually.
Same issues and even more errors.
Also tried to de-install all pagebuilder related items.
Re-installed from fresh download package.
No difference. Same issues!
:(

Actually, it gets even worse in Backend:
Pre-defined Sections do NOT display in backend. Neither in component, nor in module context.
Pre-defined Pages collections do NOT show up.
Creating a new row and saving results in EMPTY interface.
:(

The frontend part seem to work though.
:o

WHATS GOING ON THERE!?!?
I am clueless.
Hi guys.

To be able to get a better idea, maybe we should put some extra information

- Joomla version
- Template name
- PHP version

Right now, we notice hosting provider used lots of different version. 7.0, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3
It's going crazy lately and I'm wondering if this is not the problem.

Personally, I'm using version PHP 7.1.29
My hosting provider cannot upgrade my server anymore so I will need to fix this asap but anyways, it should work for now.

Mat
I'm on the latest version of everything

- Joomla 3.9.6
- PHP 7.3.5
- Using many templates, from Helix Ultimate, Travis to Charity

It's to do with SP Page Builder, and not the platform. Something changed with how it interacts with MySQL as the data is there before POST and vanishes right afterwards.

You can copy a row, save (it goes blank), paste the row and save, and it stays.

Edit:

I've also got it running on Helix Ultimate's predecessor, Helix III, and the same issue occurs there. SP Page Builder 3.4.8 is what I'm staying on until whatever the issue is, is fully resolved.
Right now, we notice hosting provider used lots of different version. 7.0, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3
It's going crazy lately and I'm wondering if this is not the problem.


Good point.
But in my case, it's likely not related to the PHP version. I have done my tests with the same local server environment I am running for some months now.
Nonetheless I have tried all my available four(!) PHP 7 versions. From 7.0.x up to 7.3.x
I can't see any difference.

The only additions to my previous reports are:

  • The section / pages preview did NOT work during my last test. NOW, for some reason I don't know, it shows the previews again. Sorry, I see no rule here.
  • Not sure, if it is a result of re-installation or emptying caches: I can create an empty ROW and save the module.
  • AS SOON AS I drag a pre-made SECTION into the editor area... the editor goes blank. The section does not show up, the add-buttons vanish. No chance to edit anything. Everything is lost.

  • If I can manage to insert a ROW before, as the FIRST CONTENT, and then save the module, I can ADD a SECTION!

My main Javascript error is still:
TypeError: "r.settings is undefined"
engine.js


Hope this helps.

WWweb

4 weeks ago #Permalink
Also having the same problem:
Create a module in the backend, add row, save and module changes to show front-end edit button only, with a row of blue and a row of gray under the button, like it is trying to load edit area but cannot. Cannot save again nor close the module.

Installed mod provided above but no difference.

The front-end edit button does work, though, and I'm able to edit fine using it.

Doesn't seem to affect the pages, only modules.

Using Joomla 3.9.6
SPPB 3.4.11
Helix Ultimate 1.1.1
JCE 2.7.13 (tried also with TinyMCE, same result)
PHP 7.1 (tried also with PHP 7.2, same result)

I can set a test site if still needed.

Al Mamun - Staff

4 weeks ago #Permalink
Hi All Guys,
We have found the issue. But the issue is very small & silly. We all have ignored one evil which is browser cache or website cache.
Can all guys please give simple test and confirm is the issue is persist or not.

Test process:

First use previous version of Page Builder like 3.4.8 then create a module then update to 3.4.11. After update clear website cache and hard refresh browser then go to module page and click edit there also hard refresh the browser then play with module and save, close or whatever you want.

Please let know after the test.

Thanks,
Mamun

udi

4 weeks ago #Permalink
Hi All Guys,
We have found the issue. But the issue is very small & silly. We all have ignored one evil which is browser cache or website cache.
Can all guys please give simple test and confirm is the issue is persist or not.

Test process:

First use previous version of Page Builder like 3.4.8 then create a module then update to 3.4.11. After update clear website cache and hard refresh browser then go to module page and click edit there also hard refresh the browser then play with module and save, close or whatever you want.

Please let know after the test.

Thanks,
Mamun



sorry... but didn't help....
i went to the original site, updated SPPB 3.4.7 to the recent 3.4.11
cleared cache
opened browser (FF) in privet mode
and once opened the module - there is no backend editing. only button for front end editing
save, save & close, save & new and close buttons do not responed
i stopped there and didn't even try to do front end editing

Attachments (1)

  • Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg 159.3 KB

Al Mamun - Staff

3 weeks ago #Permalink
Hi udi,

Broken one will not work or can't be restored. Because we or you saved that in broken situation. Please leave that and work with new one.

Thanks,
Mamun

WWweb

3 weeks ago #Permalink

First use previous version of Page Builder like 3.4.8 then create a module then update to 3.4.11. After update clear website cache and hard refresh browser then go to module page and click edit there also hard refresh the browser then play with module and save, close or whatever you want.


Where can we find an earlier version?


Broken one will not work or can't be restored. Because we or you saved that in broken situation. Please leave that and work with new one.


Please clarify.... I'm understanding that on sites that have been upgraded to 3.4.11 we'll have to delete 3.4.11 and reinstall 3.4.8? This would cause all work to be lost and pages to be rebuilt?

Thanks
I have the same bug, php version 7.2.18, Joomla! 3.9.6 Stable, SP Page Builder 3.4.11.

In console i find:
SyntaxError: expected expression, got ';'
index.php:249:17
ReferenceError: initialState is not defined engine.js:52:130876

in index.php line 249 is:
var initialState=;

After unminify the js i found in this line the problem is in tgus line:
u = function() {
var e, t, n, a, u, c, d, p, v, m, b = arguments.length > 0 && void 0 !== arguments[0] ? arguments[0] : initialState,
y = arguments[1];

maybe this help you.

Pavel

3 weeks ago #Permalink
I have the same bug, php version 7.2.18, Joomla! 3.9.6 Stable, SP Page Builder 3.4.11.

In console i find:
SyntaxError: expected expression, got ';'
index.php:249:17
ReferenceError: initialState is not defined engine.js:52:130876

in index.php line 249 is:
var initialState=;

After unminify the js i found in this line the problem is in tgus line:
u = function() {
var e, t, n, a, u, c, d, p, v, m, b = arguments.length > 0 && void 0 !== arguments[0] ? arguments[0] : initialState,
y = arguments[1];
maybe this help you.

Solution here https://www.joomshaper.com/forums/sp-page-builder-pro-3-4-11-sppb-module-content-is-deleted-when-an-existing-module-is-edited-in-backend?start=20#reply-198001


  • AS SOON AS I drag a pre-made SECTION into the editor area... the editor goes blank. The section does not show up, the add-buttons vanish. No chance to edit anything. Everything is still lost again.

My main Javascript error is still:
TypeError: "r.settings is undefined"
engine.js


Please, can somone test and confirm this bug?
Create a NEW module, INSERT a pre-made SECTION into the layout area.

Al Mamun - Staff

3 weeks ago #Permalink
@WWweb, If you are using 3.4.11 then no need to go back to 3.4.8, delete errored one and start from new module.

@pepperstreet, I am checking this issue.

Thanks all.

Al Mamun - Staff

3 weeks ago #Permalink
Hi pepperstreet, I checked that page template is working fine. Please check here.

Thanks,
Mamun

Al Mamun - Staff

3 weeks ago #Permalink
Hi All Guys,

I have created a forum post with all possible solutions here is post link.

Thanks,
Mamun
Hi pepperstreet, I checked that page template is working fine. Please check here.


Thanks for checking the issues again... I have watched your screenrecording and there is a little difference to my previous description: It seems you have an initial, empty ROW in your layout! I can also add a SECTION, if there is an existing row.

But, try to ADD a SECTION in a NEW and EMPTY layout first. Without any row or addon.
It results in an empty, disfunctional ui/editor.

WWweb

3 weeks ago #Permalink
@WWweb, If you are using 3.4.11 then no need to go back to 3.4.8, delete errored one and start from new module.

@pepperstreet, I am checking this issue.

Thanks all.


Things seem to be working fine now as far as module backend and adding rows and addons, however the problem still exists if I try to add a section without creating a row first - not an urgent issue for us, but just wanted to share our experience.

Thanks for your work on this issue!


There are no replies made for this post yet.
However, you are not allowed to reply to this post.

Leaderboard (30 days)

Sifat

Sifat

Total Accepted Answers: 117
Paul Frankowski

Paul Frankowski

Total Accepted Answers: 91
Toufiq

Toufiq

Total Accepted Answers: 32
Al Mamun

Al Mamun

Total Accepted Answers: 3
J

johnny

Total Accepted Answers: 3

100+

Templates

200,000+

Community Users

Newsletter

Don’t miss any updates of our new templates and extensions and all the astonishing offers we bring for you.
We never spam

Joomla! ® name is used under a limited license from Open Source Matters in the United States and other countries. JoomShaper.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Open Source Matters or the Joomla! Project.

Connect Us