Updates of Templates - Forum | JoomShaper
Awaiting an answer Templates

Updates of Templates

Asked by Rüdiger P. Strey 5 years ago Last activity 5 years ago

Hello support!

There is a little thing, that is annoying me...

I bought a template with "Lifetime Usage" - so far, so good. Now I get an update reminder and I can not update the template because my template is older than 3 Month. That's absolutely okay too.

But...my customer always gets the update reminder too. And he gets the error message "download failed" and that is not correct, because he now thinks that I have done or sold him something wrong or his website is broken. That brings me at a loss to explain. I don't want that and I can't get rid of the update reminder!

So why don't you just call your updates e.g. Restora2, handle it as a new template and nobody gets in trouble to explain anything, because there are no error messages regarding updates.

Regards
Ruediger

4 replies

Muntasir Sakib Staff

Hello Rüdiger,

If I ain't wrong, you are talking about disabling the auto-update option so that your clients won't get notified about the updates. Is it so?

Rüdiger P. Strey Asked this

Hello Muntasir!

Nearly, but not exactly.

I don't to disable the auto-update at all! That would have too many disadvantages e.g. other extensions etc. would not be updated. That's not good.

I only (!) don't want to get an update reminder for the Restora-Template! Can I switch of the reminder only for this extension/template? I would be pleased to learn how!

Muntasir Sakib Staff

Hello Rüdiger,

Please, login to your Joomla administrator.

Then, go to Extensions > Manage > Manage, and then search for the options you don't want to get update notifications of, and simply DISABLE those. You won't get any more notifications after that.

Thank you!

Rüdiger P. Strey Asked this

Thank you, Muntasir!

Under Extensions > Manage > Update sites I disabled the Restora Template. But...when opening/starting the Control Panel in the Backend the advice at the top is still active "Extension Update(s) are available".

And that is the point! I don't want that my customer, logging into the Backend, sees that an Extension has to be updated and it can not be updated because of the expíred update time. That'S a bad reputation for my work...

Log in to reply.