Experiencing Cacheing Issues SP Page Builder 5 - Question | JoomShaper

Experiencing Cacheing Issues SP Page Builder 5

L

Lynn

SP Page Builder 11 months ago

Using the most recent template, Investa, and running into a lot of cacheing issues with the SP Page Builder 5. Whenever I make a change or delete a page, it makes it, but I can't see it on the backend unless I go to another browser. From there, it erases any changes I make to a page.

I have had to use my browser inspect tool and disable the cache, and that still doesn't entirely work. Ultimately, this has made it very difficult to edit the site.

Searched the forum, but I didn't see anyone else with this issue. Also, our Joomla cache is turned off.

0
66 Answers
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 11 months ago #126737

Hi there,

I appreciate you reaching out. I sincerely apologize for this oversight. We didn't face this type of issue. I think this issue occurred for the server caching issue. Did you contact your hosting provider?

-Thanks

0
L
Lynn
Accepted Answer
11 months ago #127047

We are the hosting provider. We didn't see anything wrong on our end. So that is why it is very confusing. We have had to disable cache through the inspect tool in order to actually work on our sites.

Any other suggestions? Any suggestions as to why you think this might be happening on the hosting side of things?

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 11 months ago #127109

Cause, It works fine on localhost and another testing server. That's why i said. Thanks

0
L
Lynn
Accepted Answer
10 months ago #129876

Hi Toufiq,

I'm very confused because I don't have this problem with Page Builder 3 or 4. So are we sure it is something on my end and no extra cacheing pieces were added to the version 5?

Also, can you eplain what you mean by a "server cacheing issue?" If it is a server issue, when we deactivate the cacheing from the debugger than the page works. Shouldn't it still not work if it is an issue with our server?

If it really is a problem with our server, would you know what setting might be controlling that that I need to change.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 10 months ago #129964

Developer team is checking this issue. Did you use cloudFlare on your site?

0
L
Lynn
Accepted Answer
10 months ago #130104

We are not using cloudFlare on our site.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 10 months ago #130184

Will you please provide me the Hosting access to check the issue?

0
L
Lynn
Accepted Answer
10 months ago #130609

Here you go

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 10 months ago #130707

Please check now. I have added this code inside the .htaccess file. It occurred for the server caching problem.

# DISABLE CACHING 
<IfModule mod_headers.c>    
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"  
Header set Pragma "no-cache"    
Header set Expires 0 
</IfModule> 
0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 10 months ago #130619

I will give you feedback by tomorrow. Thanks

0
Gerald W.
Gerald W.
Accepted Answer
9 months ago #134494

I am also experiencing this and my clients are beyond frustrated. You guys really need to fix this. It is not a browser issue as it happens on Chrome and Firefox both. It is not the server. It is not Joomla, FIX IT PLEASE I am tired of having to guess at whether I am seeing the correct content and clearing my browser cache after every edit!!!

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 9 months ago #134576

Will you please provide me the Joomla administrator access to check the issue?

0
LR
Laurent Robin
Accepted Answer
8 months ago #137869

I also have this issue and not only me. that's more than frustrating. What can we do now Toufiq? I'm using SP Builder since it has existed. Never had thoses problems with the previous versions. Also all other extensions are working whatever the browser or server settings! So it's not a server issue but only a SP Builder one. We are at least several frustrated users having the same issue so something must happen on your end i guess.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 8 months ago #138075

Please check now. Add this code inside the .htaccess bottom of the file.

# DISABLE CACHING 
<IfModule mod_headers.c>    
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"  
Header set Pragma "no-cache"    
Header set Expires 0 
</IfModule> 
0
LR
Laurent Robin
Accepted Answer
8 months ago #138081

Hey Toufiq, thanks for the reply

I did all this a few day and it did fix my issue. also i use the add-on "cache-killer" on Chrome which is great to be sure the browser also doesn't cache.

disable mod_security on host.

in the htaccess: SetEnv no-gzip 1

<IfModule mod_expires.c>

ExpiresActive Off

</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_headers.c>

Header always set X-Content-Type-Options "nosniff" Header set Access-Control-Allow-Origin 'origin-list' Header set Access-Control-Allow-Credentials true Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate" Header set Pragma "no-cache" Header set Expires 0 </IfModule>

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 8 months ago #138093

So, It doesn't solve your issue?

0
LR
Laurent Robin
Accepted Answer
8 months ago #138102

if you read again you will see "it did fix my issue"... ;)

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 8 months ago #138109

Thank you so much :)

0
S
SPYROS
Accepted Answer
5 months ago #147292

Hello there,

I am also experiencing almost the same bug (I am using Helix 3.0.5 & SPPB 5.2.6 on a clean installation of latest Joomla 5.0.2)

I use custom.css and sometimes website reads this css file and many other times does not. I tried this addition to my .htaccess but nothing happened. I also tried to insert these css additions code straight to template.css, but the result was the same.

Note: I placed the <link href="/templates/shaper_helix3/css/custom.css" rel="stylesheet"> first in the <head> section but the result was the same.

Please explain to us what we have to do in order to render custom.css file as it is all the time.

Thank you in advance

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 5 months ago #148239

Can you share a screencast video about the full scenario?

0
J
jimmy102
Accepted Answer
5 months ago #148770

Has there been a fix for this issue yet? Every install with pagebuilder I have to deal with it and it is really starting to slow me down. I have added the code to the htaccess file and sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. How else can we get around this issue?

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 5 months ago #149293

This issue occurred for your hosting caching issue.

0
UR
Udo Richter
Accepted Answer
5 months ago #149113

We also have caching issues every time we install a joomla 4 or 5 website with pagebuilder. Trashing pages does not appear to be trashing them, uploading pictures or creating folders within the media viewer are not showing up in frontend despite them being uploaded when I look at the FTP. It is quite frustrating and something that already happened with pagebuilder 4 for a LONG time. I was really hoping this issue would finally be solved with pagebuilder 5. We never had caching issues like this in pagebuilder 3.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 5 months ago #149294

Will you please provide me the Joomla administrator access to check the issue?

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
2 months ago #155606

SP PAGE BUILDER does not work with Joomla 4 or 5. All modifications or additions made with SPPAGE builder are lost. You have to switch from one browser to another to avoid too much loss. All caching is disable. In short, it's a disaster and the support has done nothing for months.

0
Gerald W.
Gerald W.
Accepted Answer
2 months ago #155611

Tofiq Saying it is the hosting provider doesn't really help. It is a way for you to deflect from answering the question. Tell us WHAT EXACTLY is 'wrong' at the server level that is causing SP Page Builder to cache and cache-backwards seemingly. This has been a frustrating issue that has made us check each element on the page is correct before saving now and that has slowed our productivity greatly.
A lot of user, -us included- admnistrer our own servers. So if you have the answer at the hosting level which is caucing your product to malfunction, by all means, please list it here. If your product is so fragile that the EXACT SAME server configuration that has worked previously, now creates a caching issue, help us HELP YOU restore functionality to your product. It is frustrating and you need to do better with explaining and answering these tickets.
WHAT IS THE ASNWER?

0
LR
Laurent Robin
Accepted Answer
2 months ago #155616

i have this issue with one hosting company. it's something that have to do with caching on the server. From what i know the Joomshaper team is aware and try to fix the problem for the next update. It would be good to know what can cause this. i will try to contact the hosting company having this issue, perhaps they have an idea. perhaps a php.ini thing. I'm glad this does not happen for all my clients. To develop i use cache killer on Chrome which fix the problem but i can't tell clients to install that to admin their website. That's why Tufiq and the team must absolutely fix that issue as high priority. i hope they will read this message and push more effort to fix that.

0
S
sdlsites
Accepted Answer
2 months ago #155618

I am having the exact same issue. I have been raising it for months both here and within the moderated Facebook group. https://www.joomshaper.com/forum/question/31107#qa-answer-153284

Laurent Robin's suggestion (Thanks for that!) was really helpful for my internal usage but I can't have client's installing extensions to make their site work so a real solution is needed.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 2 months ago #155693

If you encounter caching issues, please insert the following code snippet into your .htaccess file.

Add this code inside the .htaccess bottom of the file.

# DISABLE CACHING 
<IfModule mod_headers.c>    
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"  
Header set Pragma "no-cache"    
Header set Expires 0 
</IfModule> 
0
S
sdlsites
Accepted Answer
2 months ago #155881

I will try the workaround but I hope that this will be resolved at the pagebuilder level. Cache isn't an unheard of function and the fact that it literally breaks the extension is not good.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
2 months ago #155762

@Toufiq ... This is a bug on the last major version of SP Page Builder (never had this problem with the olders versions of SP Page builder) and your developers need to find a solution. It's very important for us and our customers.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 2 months ago #155827

Developer team ask me to share a site URL to check the issue. Can you provide me a site URL with login credential? Thanks

0
S
sdlsites
Accepted Answer
2 months ago #157653

is there any update on this?

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 2 months ago #157696

Developer team ask me to share a site URL to check the issue. Can you provide me a site URL with login credential? Thanks

0
S
sdlsites
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #158080

It is available here: https://www.joomshaper.com/forum/question/31107#qa-answer-153565

in the hidden content there are videos and credentials. I just don't want to to put it in hte hidden content of a forum post that is not my own to avoid others being able to see the info.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #158147

I've informed our teammate about your request. He should be in touch with you shortly. Thank you for your patience.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #158195

Fixing the bug takes a long time. This is not normal and unprofessional. when can we tell our customers that this is fixed ?

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #158196

You didn't provide me the staging site login credential.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #158197

Toufiq, The problem does not come from the website. You know it well. Read comments from other users of your solution (e.g. sdlsites). We all have the same cache problem. Did you have to see this with your support as you wrote?

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #158227

Please check here and let me know if you found the problem. Thanks

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #158759

Do you ask your customers to find the solution themselves ? What is your technical support for ? I hope this is a joke. Without a solution for the cache it became impossible to integrate SP PAGE BUILDER into our clients' websites. For information, the problem has been going on for months.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #158804

It seems you are not interested in helping me identify the issue, and you haven't checked the same problem on my staging site. How can I assist you better? If you have an alternative process, please let me know, and I'll follow your guidance. Thank you for understanding.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #158805

Note: We didn't use any caching service in our product and caching issue raised for third-party extension or server causes.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #158835

Hi Toufiq,

Your colleague Ofi Khan just wrote this: "Yes, we are trying our best to minimize the problem". At the same time you write that there is no problem for you. Who to believe in the end ? You, Ofi ? The only thing we want is to have either a fix in SP PAGE Builder or a tutorial to avoid this problem (if SP PAGE BUILDER works very well for you and the problem is on the servers). For your information, many of us have the same problem in the world. Can we count on your help ?

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #158840

I reapet again, If you give me a problematic site, I can share it with our developer team to find the solution.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #158844

I do not want to communicate admin access to the site on this forum (for security reasons). Please let me know how to get this to you securely.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #158845

note : I don't want use the Hidden content.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #158847
0
MG
Marie-Aude Goumot
Accepted Answer
1 month ago #159810

Hello, I wrote an email to [email protected] to explain i have the same trouble. My hosting company is siteground.

Here was the answer : HI Could you please comment on that forum post? OR create a new forum post about your issue. :-)

Here are the first answers of siteground's AI support : It sounds like you're experiencing a caching issue with SP Page Builder 5 on your Joomla site, which is affecting your ability to see updates in the backend. This can be frustrating, especially when changes don't reflect immediately even after clearing the cache. Here are a few steps you can take to troubleshoot and potentially resolve this issue:

  1. Clear Joomla Cache: Even though you mentioned that the issue persists with Joomla cache turned off, it's good to ensure all cache is cleared. Go to System > Clear Cache in your Joomla admin panel and clear all cached content.

  2. Browser Cache: Since you've noticed changes when switching browsers, this indicates a possible browser caching issue. Ensure you clear your browser cache completely or try using your site in incognito mode to avoid caching.

  3. SP Page Builder Cache: Check if SP Page Builder has its own caching mechanism. Sometimes, extensions have separate cache settings. If available, try clearing cache from within the SP Page Builder settings.

  4. Plugin Conflicts: Disable other plugins temporarily to rule out any conflicts. Sometimes other extensions or plugins can interfere with how page builders behave.

  5. Permissions and Server Cache: Ensure that your file permissions are set correctly, allowing Joomla and SP Page Builder to write changes effectively. Additionally, if your server uses caching mechanisms like Varnish, you might want to clear that cache or temporarily disable it to see if it resolves the issue.

  6. Update Extensions and Joomla: Ensure that both Joomla and SP Page Builder are updated to their latest versions. Updates often include bug fixes that might resolve your issue.

  7. Developer Tools: Since you've used the browser inspect tool, check the console for any JavaScript errors that might indicate problems loading or saving your changes. JavaScript issues can often cause the symptoms you're describing.

If after trying these steps the problem still persists, it might be beneficial to reach out to the developers of SP Page Builder or consult with a professional who can take a closer look at your specific setup. This kind of issue can sometimes be complex and require a detailed examination of your Joomla installation and server environment.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 1 month ago #159829

If you give me a staging server access, then i will share your site info to our developer team. Thanks

0
H
Hans
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161657

Hi Toufiq

I have excatly the same problem.

Adding the DISABLE CACHING code at the bottom of the .htaccess file solved the problem. This is a work-around only, I reckon, not a real solution.

Are you still workin on that issue? Do you still need server access? I could provide credentials, pls tell me.

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 2 weeks ago #161728

Yes, Please provide me site login credentials to check the issue. Thanks

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161794

Support won't do anything. The problem has been present for months and nothing has been done. Toufiq only asks for access without this solving the problem. SP PAGE BUILDER does not work well with its cache issues and our customers complain about this.

0
H
Hans
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161795

@Toufiq, I'll provide site login credentials to check the issue.

However, this is a website with a real URL that has not yet been published. Therefore, the .htaccesss contains IP restrictions:

deny from all
allow from IPv6 Address
allow from IPv4 Address

If you have a fixed IP (IPv4 should be sufficient) please let me know, also in a private message.

If you don't have a fixed IP, please let me know and I'll add a .htaccess login with additional credentials.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161796

Hans, the problem is with SP PAGE BUILDER and not with your site. See all exchanges over the past 10 months.

0
H
Hans
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161797

Eric, Toufiq would like to solve the problem in SP Page Builder. To do this, he needs to analyze where the error lies. To do this, he needs a website that has the problem. I will provide him with the access.

0
E
Eric
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161798

Hans, Toufiq already had it unfortunately. keep hoping :-)

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 2 weeks ago #161868

@everyone If someone share a staging site login credentials then i can share your site access to our developer team to check & solve it final production.

Here is the initial solution.

Add this code inside the .htaccess file.

# DISABLE CACHING 
<IfModule mod_headers.c>    
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"  
Header set Pragma "no-cache"    
Header set Expires 0 
</IfModule> 

As far as i know, there is no caching function used on Page Builder extension.

-Thanks

0
LR
Laurent Robin
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161871

This is a SPBP Issue, not a server caching issue. All was running fine on previous releases...

0
S
sdlsites
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161873

I have previously tried that HTACCESS file change. It didn't do anything. We have all server cache, site cache, and CDN disabled. This started at SPPB 5 and no other extension is affected.

I have shared test site credentials here: https://www.joomshaper.com/forum/question/31107#qa-answer-161784

I was told "Thanks for the discussion, friends. I have shared it with the team. The development team will work on the caching issues for the future versions." by Ofi Khan

Please let me know what you need.

0
H
Hans
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161907

@Toufiq, I'll provide site login credentials to check the issue.

However, this is a website with a real URL that has not yet been published. Therefore, the .htaccesss contains IP restrictions:

deny from all
allow from IPv6 Address
allow from IPv4 Address

If you have a fixed IP (IPv4 should be sufficient) please let me know, also in a private message.

If you don't have a fixed IP, please let me know and I'll add a .htaccess login with additional credentials.

0
H
Hans
Accepted Answer
1 week ago #162005

Are you still interested in the login credentials to check the issue?

0
MG
Marie-Aude Goumot
Accepted Answer
2 weeks ago #161940

Hello, It seems that it comes from the cache of the backoffice of SP Pagebuilder. If you modify once an article, it is correctly converted in front office. BUT if you reopen the same article in the backoffice, it is not recorded. If you wait 24h without reopening the article, the back-office is correct, as the front-office is. So do only one recording of an article every day... It seems to be ok for me, but very disturbing. @other users : is it the same for you ? @support : definitively, there is something to check with the cache of the back-office of SP Pagebuilder. Does it help ?

0
Toufiq
Toufiq
Accepted Answer
Senior Staff 2 weeks ago #161954

Can you share a staging site which is works fine using older version? I will install the latest version to check the issue. Thanks

0
F
FJN
Accepted Answer
1 week ago #162362

I can definitely confirm that this is an issue that has been frustrating us and my clients for a bit now. We've implemented the .htaccess DISABLE CACHING workaround, but it isn't fixing our issue. To test, we've disabled Joomla caching and GZIP page compression. Here's what we experience:

  1. Make changes to a Page Builder page

  2. Save & Close the change

  3. Website updated

  4. Make further changes in the page, then Save & Close again

  5. Additional changes saved, but original changes (in step 1) revert. It's quite maddenng.

Joomla 4.4.6 SP Page Builder 5.3.4

We can upgrade to Joomla 5 as our server supports it, but we're not at all confident that doing so will fix the Page Builder issue.

0
S
sdlsites
Accepted Answer
2 days ago #162817

Can we get an update on this?

0